WHY NOT TRY?

It has been suggested that ‘Everyone has a book in them’.

That may be true, though for most I suspect they’d have to do a fair amount of digging to free it.

I say this not to gloat that I managed to reach my own, rather to say why can’t we achieve these things?

I watched a fragment of a program on TV today called Money for Nothing where items which are about to be thrown away are ‘rescued’, handed over to a particular expert who then breathes new life into them, and are then sold with any profit going back to the original owner. All in all, pretty middle of the road afternoon TV but there’ve been times when I’ve looked at the finished product that’s been sold for hundreds of pounds and been at an absolute loss to explain the appeal. In short, ‘I could do that’.

Now I recognise that this is a horribly simplified way of looking at things and becoming an expert in any field isn’t as simple as just having a bash and getting positive results but at the very centre of this idea is why not give it a go?

We always seem to find ways for things to get in the way of possibly having a crack at these potential hobbies.

I’ve heard at different events where people have lamented the fact that they’d be able to write a book if only they could find the time, find the energy, find the motivation. My wife has been told quite often by people that they’d love to be able to crochet the way she does but …….(insert reason).

I’ve done the same myself, we all have. We get an idea in our heads of trying something new and then talk ourselves out of it. What if it doesn’t work out? What if I’m no good? What if I make a fool of myself? Probably better not to risk it.

Rubbish.

We need to be more willing to just go for it.

Just not giving things a go could very well be keeping us from doing something amazing that we deeply enjoy, and if we’re not taking the chance because we may not get the ‘perfect’ outcome, we can be sure that “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.”

Have a go and enjoy it all.

Stay safe all.

Leave a comment