Today’s post is going to be looking at two things.

Firstly, I had a great time getting stuck into my very first author takeover on the HEA Seekers Book Club on Facebook. I was more than a little humbled to be asked in the first place and as the time approached to get the ball rolling I was getting really nervous. Would anyone be out there? Would I be well received? Did I have anything to say? Could I type fast enough?

As the event unfolded it turned out that it was so far removed from all of the terrors that I’d had running through my mind that it made me feel a little embarrassed that I was so nervous. I know that you have to do the ’rounds’ as an author to try and spread the word about your work but this aspect of the whole writing thing is not something that I feel to be my greatest strength. I have to work hard to get this aspect right.

That said, I’ve been incredibly fortunate that every time I’ve got out there, all those involved have been really helpful and understanding. Long may it continue.

The second half of this post is reliant on you having read the latest short story I released on here. If you haven’t already read the previous post, CONFESSION, give it a read and then come back and read the rest of what I’ve got to say here.

Welcome back.

What I’m going to look at is the power of the twist.

In so many tales, a twist is a vital tool to create new dramatic weight. We’ve all seen the twist before and can recognise just how effective it can be to make things more interesting. It’s really easy to think of the work of M.Night Shayamalan when the topic of the twist ending is brought up with Sixth Sense being a great example of it done really well. You’re suddenly in a car that’s no longer travelling down the road you first thought. All of the certainty you’ve been building up is suddenly snatched from under you and you struggle to keep your balance like a tall glass after the tablecloth is whipped away.

The trouble is that if the tactic is overused it can become diminished. Each film that followed Sixth Sense seemed to be slightly less because now we were all looking for it. We were all keeping an eye out for the twist so weren’t fully diving into the story.

In CONFESSION, I was keen to use the twist to make the story something very different. I’d been told the original story as dealing with children and a real teddy bear but I could see that an added twist could make it so much worse. The language was there to lead you in one way, thinking I was talking about kids and toys, only for everything to run away somewhere else at the last minute. I wanted the narrator character to be the ‘good guy’ throughout the piece until the twist and suddenly, they weren’t.

I’m a fan of changing the focus of things. I really enjoyed Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog, where the classic bad guy is the main focus of the story and we look at all of the events of the battle between hero and villain from the wrong side. We get to see that there is always a different angle to a story and the twist which is played out is where the story *SPOILER ALERT* switches to the more usual trope of the villain being villainous.

I like a twist. I enjoy what it can give. I like trying to use it in my work. I hope everyone else enjoyed CONFESSION and thought the twist worked well.

Leave a Reply

