We’ve had a hell of a weekend at Dysprosium in London. A huge extravaganza of all things wordy and we had an absolute blast.

Trader stands, author panels and a gathering of all manner of people who wanted to immerse themselves in the fun and games of their favourite books and characters.

This was our second convention of the year and very different to the first.

We were first and foremost going for the chance to meet Jim Butcher, author of The Dresden Files and The Codex Alera series, and listen to what he had to say about the writing world he inhabits.

The usual convention atmosphere of inclusion was certainly in place and everyone we spoke with was more than happy to chat and mingle. The convention allowed us to grab arm fulls of books which now we’ll have to try and find the time to actually read, a Hitchhikers Guide inspired teddy bear and I even managed to pick up a Dragon topped swagger stick – perfect for my author persona.

But, unlike every other convention I’ve attended, I was able to start looking at what was taking place with my author persona very much to the fore.

Listening to the likes of Jim Butcher, Charlie Stross, Sam Stone and Danie Ware talk about the details surrounding their genres, their planning and so many other nuggets of information, allowed me to look beyond the details of what I’ve been doing so far. Now I was starting to examine the reality of what I’d have to do when I step behind the table selling my books at one of these events.

I was lucky enough to get the chance to speak with one of the authors who was attending and running a launch for her latest novel. We discussed some of the more functional bits and pieces about what needs to take place at an event like that. Francesca Barbini was launching her latest book (check them out) and we did have a good chat about all kinds of things. She’s also involved in The Sci-fi & Fantasy Network and she and her partner even interviewed me about my book for the network. I’m going to send them a signed copy of my book for a giveaway.

All in all, this was a great convention which not only allowed us to investigate all the details of our fandom but it also gave me so very much more. As I’ve said previously, everyone really should give these events a try.

Right then, off to get my business cards ordered.

Leave a Reply

