Everyone can relax to start with. There will not be any pictures of my rear end or indeed any rear end during this post. I’d like to think I’m not at the level of mooning just because.

Now that there’s been the collective sigh of relief at that information, we can get underway.

I’ve been kicking the possible ideas around for future work, both short stories and the longer novels, and I came to the odd realisation that the very first story I wrote, that very first narrative that crashed against my own inertia and heaved the writing boulder down the hill could very easily be seen as my own vanity taking form.

That very first story was, I hope, put together in a way that compelled the reader to keep turning the pages but it was the more I thought about it, I started to worry that my first book was just vanity.

Now I know I’ve said in the past that the book I wrote was the story I wanted to read. No-one had quite written the bang on story for me. There have been more than a few that have managed to get very close but the perfect fit was still missing. Therefore, off I went. The other ideas I’ve had are still close to my heart but the Dragon series will always be the number one.

So should I be worried about vanity?

Well yes and no.

Yes, I don’t just want to be making stories that only I will have any interest in. Every author’s first book is their spark of inspiration. It was the story that they just had to tell, unable to stop the words just spilling out. I want to spread the word so to speak, in terms of what interests me but never forget that I need to keep a divide between what I write and who I am. I’m writing for other people as well as myself.

But no, because I doubt there are swathes of authors out there who have built a career out of writing about topics that they find boring and uninteresting. If the author doesn’t like what they’re writing, how will they be able to engage anyone else?

My mind wandered. I mulled. I drank tea. Eventually I came to the conclusion that I needed to be aware of making my stories as accessible as I can but never overlook the fact that my interest in the subject matter is what drives everything from it.

So I return to the first question, “Does my bum look big in this?” Remember everyone, that when you cast an eye over the fruits of my labour, bare in mind that I’m showing the world at least some part of me.

Be gentle.

Leave a Reply

